If you downgrade you will lose access to all the features which are not available on your new plan. Your current plan will remain active until its initial expiration date when the new plan will be activated.

When you downgrade to the Free plan the style of your page will be reset to the basic theme and the elements which are not available will be removed (e.g. the Mailchimp block)